ISSN (Print) - 0012-9976 | ISSN (Online) - 2349-8846
Reader Mode
-A A +A

Uttarakhand 2012: Who Gained, Who Lost?

The 2012 assembly elections not only saw a totally fractured mandate in Uttarakhand but also the historic defeat of the Bharatiya Janata Party Chief Minister B C Khanduri. Even as delimitation shifted more seats to the Plains compared to the Hills, caste politics, intra-party rivalries, poor choice of candidates and internal sabotaging meant that neither national party emerged as a clear winner or loser in the process.

Subscribers please login to access full text of the article.

New 3 Month Subscription
to Digital Archives at

649for India

$20for overseas users

Get instant access to the complete EPW archives

Subscribe now


(-) Hide

EPW looks forward to your comments. Please note that comments are moderated as per our comments policy. They may take some time to appear. A comment, if suitable, may be selected for publication in the Letters pages of EPW.

Back to Top