ISSN (Print) - 0012-9976 | ISSN (Online) - 2349-8846
-A A +A

Ninth Schedule and the Supreme Court

All the 13 Acts included in the Ninth Schedule, when it was first inserted in Part III of the Constitution vide Article 31-B in 1951, were concerned with the abolition of zamindari and allied matters relating to agrarian reforms. It has been amended several times since and now consists of 284 Acts. An incongruity, introduced as a result of sheer neglect, became an obscenity created by wilful resolve.

Subscribers please login to access full text of the article.

New 3 Month Subscription
to Digital Archives at

826for India

$50for overseas users

Get instant access to the complete EPW archives

Subscribe now


(-) Hide

EPW looks forward to your comments. Please note that comments are moderated as per our comments policy. They may take some time to appear. A comment, if suitable, may be selected for publication in the Letters pages of EPW.

Back to Top