ISSN (Print) - 0012-9976 | ISSN (Online) - 2349-8846

A+| A| A-

SOUTH AFRICA-Behind the Concessions

stars like Krishna (Eluru) and Jam una (Rajahmundry) shows that the Con- gress(I) leadership does not feel confident of challenging NTR politically. The selection of Jamuna in particular has annoyed experienced politicians like Maganti Ravindranath Chowdhary, the West Godavari zilla parishad chairman. Some sitting MLAs have been 'promoted' and given Lok Sabha tickets. Examples are M Baga Reddy (sitting MLA from Zaheerabad) and Y S Rajasekhara Reddy (sitting MLA from Pulivendula). Former chief minister K Vijayabhaskara Reddy will contest the Kurnool seat and Jalagam Vengal Rao, union industries minister, will again contest from Khammam, a stronghold of the communists since the forties. Defectors from the TDP have been given red carpet treatment. While sacked TDP minister Mudragada Padmanabham has been given the Kakinada seat, ex-TDP MPs Chinta Mohan and P Penchaliah have been fielded from their home constituencies, Tirupati (SC) and Chittoor respectively. All the six sitting Congress(I) MPs have been re-nominated.

Dear Reader,

To continue reading, become a subscriber.

Explore our attractive subscription offers.

Click here

Back to Top