ISSN (Print) - 0012-9976 | ISSN (Online) - 2349-8846
-A A +A

DEMOCRATIC RIGHTS- Indian People s Human Rights Commission

January 24, 1987 DEMOCRATIC RIGHTS Indian People's Human Rights Commission Bernard D'Mello THE Indian People's Human Rights Commission was formally inaugurated on January 10 at a press conference in New Delhi. The commission consists of concerned citizens like Mrinal Sen (president), A R Desai, Romila Thapar, V M Tarkunde and Bhagwan Das. The commission has set up the Indian People's Human Rights Tribunal which will "investigate and adjudicate upon cases of gross, systematic and significant violation of human rights by the state". The following former judges have agreed to be on the tribunal

Subscribers please login to access full text of the article.

New 3 Month Subscription
to Digital Archives at

826for India

$50for overseas users

Get instant access to the complete EPW archives

Subscribe now


(-) Hide

EPW looks forward to your comments. Please note that comments are moderated as per our comments policy. They may take some time to appear. A comment, if suitable, may be selected for publication in the Letters pages of EPW.

Back to Top