ISSN (Print) - 0012-9976 | ISSN (Online) - 2349-8846

A+| A| A-

WEST BENGAL- Erosion of Left Front s Traditional Base

WEST BENGAL Erosion of Left Front's Traditional Base Ajit Roy UNLIKE the Lok Sabha elections in 1971 and 1980 when the so-called Congress(I) wave had been stemmed at the borders of West Bengal, the Congress(I) has scored significant successes in this state this time. Though by contesting all the 42 seats, it has won only in 16, compared with four only in the last elections, it has increased its share of votes by nearly 12 percentage points. It has humbled many CPI(M) and other Left Front stalwarts including Samar Mukherji, Politbureau member, leader of the CPI(M) group in Lok Sabha and also the general secretary of the Centre of Indian Trade Unions (CITU) the central trade union body of the party, Satyasadhan Chakravarty, deputy leader of the CPI(M) group in Lok Sabha, Sunil Maitra, chairman of the Public Accounts Committee of Parliament during the last term, besides Tridib Chaudhuri and Chitta Basu, general secretaries of the RSP and Forward Bloc respectively. Many of these veterans have been defeated by large margins of votes, after the wiping out of the heavy surpluses they had achieved in the previous poll, in some cases, it is relatively unknown and young Con- gress(I) nominees who have humbled the Left Front veterans.

Dear Reader,

To continue reading, become a subscriber.

Explore our attractive subscription offers.

Click here

Back to Top